Scroll to top


Muslims commonly use two terms to describe every subject as Halal or Haram. Halal is an Arabic word which means permitted, lawful with respect to which no restriction exists, and the doing and consuming of which the Lawgiver, Allah has allowed. The term halal may be used for foods which are considered lawful. Under the Islamic Law, all sources of food are lawful except the following sources, including their products and derivatives which are considered unlawful:
Haram means the opposite-unlawful or forbidden that the Lawgiver absolutely prohibited; anyone who engages in it is liable to incur the punishment of Allah in the Hereafter as well as a legal punishment in this world.
Halal and Haram are universal terms that apply to all facets of life. Halal Food Quality Management System certificate is issued for the following sectors :
* Meat and meat products
* Milk and milk products
* Eggs and egg products
* Cereals and cereal products
* Vegetable and animal oils and fats
* Fruit and vegetables and their products
* Sugar and confectionery products
* Soft drinks (soft drinks)
* Honey and honey products
* Dietary supplements
* Genetically modified foods (GDG)
* Food additives
* Enzymes
* Micro-organisms
* Packaging materials
* Food service and buildings
* Fish and fish products
* Water
Foods containing ingredients such as gelatin, enzymes, emulsifiers, etc. are often referred to as Mashbooh, (which means doubtful or questionable) because the origin of these ingredients are not known. Many of the foods are considered Halal except the following, which are Haram without doubt.
* Pigs and boars.
* Dogs, snakes and monkeys.
* Carnivorous animals with claws and fangs such as lions, tigers, bears and other similar animals.
* Birds of prey with claws such as eagles, vultures, and other similar birds.
* Pests such as rats, centipedes, scorpions and other similar animals.
* Animals forbidden to be killed in Islam i.e., ants, bees and woodpecker birds.
* Animals which are considered repulsive generally like lice, flies, maggots and other similar animals.
* Animals that live both on land and in water such as frogs, crocodiles and other similar animals.
* Mules and domestic donkeys.
* All poisonous and hazardous aquatic animals.
* Any other animals not slaughtered according to Islamic Law.
* Blood.
* Intoxicating and hazardous plants except where the toxin or hazard can be eliminated during processing.
* Alcoholic drinks.
* All forms of intoxicating and hazardous drinks.
Halal food is the food including drinks, which is allowed to be consumed according to Islamic rules and that comply with the requirements mentioned in OIC/SMIIC 1 : 2011 standard. This standard defines the basic requirements that shall be followed at any stage of food chain including, receiving, preparation, processing, sorting, determination, packaging, labelling, marking, controlling, handling, transportation, distribution, storage and service of halal food and its products based on Islamic rules.

LSQA can certify any company from the food, Textile and Trading sectors against ISO 9001

Content text

Content text

You could be also interested in those standards

We use cookies to give you the best experience.